Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on Twitter0Share on Google+0Email this to someone

Peter Lanchene Toobu – PC elect for Wa West Constituency

Incumbent Member of Parliament for the Wa West constituency, Hon Joseph Yieleh Chireh, has been shamefully defeated by a retired police officer, Peter Lanchene Toobu in a contest where many predicted victory for the only MP who has occupied the Wa West seat since its creation in 2004.

Supt (rtd) Peter Lanchene who resigned as Secretary to the Inspector General of Police to contest the National Democratic Congress (NDC) primaries won with 755 votes of the valid votes cast against Yieleh Chireh who got 317 votes. The result means that the Wa West constituency will send a new representative to parliament in 2021 with Hon Chireh’s 16 years parliamentary career effectively ending in 2020.

The result has left many surprised as they never expected Peter Lanchene to beat Yieleh Chireh with such a vote margin.

Hon Chireh, a seasoned politician and first Secretary of the Upper West Region, after casting his vote during the election boasted that he will win, and that there was nothing that would stop him from victory. He confidently told press men that allegations levelled against him that he is non-performing are from the media and not his constituents who always and will vote for him.

Many people expressed excitement to learn that Mr. Chireh, who boycotted the media in the region, has been kicked out of Parliament. The former health minister has for some time decided not to speak to the media with reason being that it will not affect his electoral fortunes considering that most of his constituents do not have access to the media.

Until his defeat, Hon Chireh who served as Minister for Local Government and Rural Development has always been cited as one of the underperforming MPs in the Upper West Region. Many have argued that he did little to none in developing the district which is perceived as the poorest in Ghana.

Victory for Pelpuo

Meanwhile, Dr. Hassan Rashid Pelpuo who went to parliament together with Hon Joseph Yieleh Chireh in 2005 beat three other candidates to win the NDC primaries in the Wa Central constituency with 693 votes of the valid votes cast. His closest contender, Hon Yakubu Duogu polled 287 votes. Other candidates in the Wa Central constituency contest were Dr. Sharif Mahmoud Khalid and Lawyer Wahid Iddrissu Bampuori who polled 172 and 121 votes respectively.


Hon Rashid Pelpuo, prior to this election, has also seen accusations of underperformance as Member of Parliament for the Wa Central even though many predicted a win for him in the primaries. The victory means that Dr. Rashid Pelpuo will be searching for a fifth term in parliament in the December, 2020 general elections.

Other winners in the Upper West Region

  1. Nadowli/Kaleo – Anthony Sumah
  2. Wa East – Dr. Godfred Seidu Jasaw
  3. Lawra – Lawyer Bede A. Ziedeng
  4. Jirapa – Hon Cletus Seidu Dapila
  5. Lambussie/Karni – Hon Edward K. Dery
  6. Sissala East – Mohammed Issah Bataglia
  7. Sissala West – Mohammed Sukparu
  8. Daffiama-Bussie-Issa – Dr. Sebastian Saandaare (unopposed)
  9. Nandom – Dr. Richard Kuu-ire (unopposed)

The NDC conducted its Parliamentary Primaries on Saturday, August 24, 2019 across the country where they chose parliamentary candidates to represent the party in the 2020 general elections.